PGA Championship: Cameron Younger’s beautiful 2-stroke penalty proves expensive
Cameron Younger’s powerful luck at Oak Hill Nation Membership continues as he obtained a two-stroke penalty throughout his second spherical on the PGA Championship. After signing for a 4-over 74 on Day 1 of the occasion, Oak Hill gripped even tighter on him.
Throughout his second spherical, he was on the par-4 sixteenth gap with a 59-foot birdie putt — he hit it quick, and that’s when the easy mistake occurred. His ball was within the line of play of his enjoying companions Tommy Fleetwood and Hideki Matsuyama. Following the foundations, he moved the ball one clubhead size to the aspect. Nevertheless, he forgot to maneuver the ball again when he lined up for his par putt, so as an alternative of carding a 4, he obtained a two-stroke penalty to earn a six on that gap.
Younger doubtless wasn’t attempting to cheat. It seems to be a easy mistake.
“Consequently, when he changed the ball and holed out, Younger had performed from a mistaken place and incurred the Basic Penalty (two strokes) for breaching Rule 15.3,” the PGA Championship guidelines committee mentioned on Friday.
With that penalty, Younger is 9-over on the match, so he’ll doubtless not make the lower. Nevertheless, it could have been an in depth name if he did not have that penalty. Possibly reducing off the beard wasn’t such a good suggestion, as his play the final two days usually are not what followers have grown to anticipate from him at main championships.
#PGA #Championship #Cameron #Youngs #beautiful #2stroke #penalty #proves #expensive